1. home
  2. > national
  3. > Andhra assembly clears 3 capitals for the state
replay trump newslist
up NEXT IN 5 SECONDS sports newslist
tap to unmute

Andhra assembly clears 3 capitals for the state

Jan 21, 2020 12:50 IST

The Andhra Pradesh assembly has passed a controversial legislation aimed at establishing three capitals in the state amid protests by opposition leaders and farmers on Monday night. CM Jagan Reddy wants to make Visakhapatnam the executive capital of Andhra, Amaravati its legislative capital and Kurnool its judicial capital. The opposition TDP opposed the move and as many as 17 of its MLAs were suspended for "unruly behaviour". While farmers protested outside the assembly complex, Chandrababu Babu was among several TDP leaders detained for protesting. Naidu was later released.