ICC Cricket World Cup: Top wicket takers in every edition

By Umama Momin
Published on | Oct 24, 2023


Runners-up Australia's Gary Gilmour scalped 11 wickets in just 2 outings, including a 6-wicket haul, to finish as the 1st WC's leading wicket-taker

Image Credit: Twitter


Continuing the trend from the previous edition, finalists England's Mike Hendrick took the most wickets (10) across 5 games in the tournament

Image Credit: Twitter


India won their first-ever WC & two Indians topped bowling charts. Roger Binny led with 18 wickets in 8 games, Madan Lal was 3rd with 17 in 8 games

Image Credit: Twitter


Australia's Craig McDermott was the leading wicket-taker with 18 scalps in 8 games while India's Maninder Singh stood fourth 14 wickets from 7 outings

Image Credit: Twitter


Winners Pakistan's prolific Wasim Akram topped the table with 18 wickets in 10 games including his best for the tournament 4/32

Image Credit: AFP


For the second time in a World Cup, an Indian was the leading wicket-taker. Anil Kumble finished with 15 scalps from 7 innings

Image Credit: AFP


New Zealand's Geoff Allott and Australia's Shane Warne both took 20 wickets, but Allot did so in one match less than Warne

Image Credit: Facebook, AP


Sri Lankan Chaminda Vaas was the leading wicket-taker with 23 scalps to his name from 10 games. India's Zaheer Khan was 4th with 18 wkts in 11 games

Image Credit: Twitter, AFP


Australian speedster Glenn McGrath took a whopping 26 wickets in 11 innings, the highest in a World Cup till compatriot Mitchell Starc bettered it

Image Credit: AFP


A tie between arch-rivals' pacers. Pakistan's Shahid Afridi & India's Zaheer Khan both took 21 wickets but Afridi did so in one game less than Khan

Image Credit: AFP


Aussie Mitchell Starc scalped 22 wkts in 8 games. India's Umesh Yadav was third with 18 wkts in 8 games and Mohd Shami 4th with 17 wkts in 7 games

Image Credit: AFP


Mitchell Starc went past Glenn McGrath to take 27 wkts across 10 matches. India's Jasprit Bumrah was 4th with 18 wkts in 9 games

Image Credit: AFP


2 weeks into the WC, Kiwi Mitchell Santner leads the pack with 12 wkts from 5 games followed by India's Jasprit Bumrah who has 11 wkts from 5 games

Image Credit: AFP