All Player of the Match winners in Cricket World Cup finals

By Shashwat Nishant
Published on | Nov 19, 2023

Clive Lloyd

The maiden ICC Cricket World Cup in 1975 saw West Indies' Clive Lloyd take home the award after an 102 off 85 against Australia at Lord's

Image Credit: Twitter

Vivian Richards

The dominant West Indies side saw legendary batter Vivian Richards get the award in 1979 after scoring an unbeaten 138 off 157 against ENG at Lord's

Image Credit: Instagram

Mohinder Amarnath

In what was a miraculous win against the mighty WI, India's Mohinder Amarnath was named man of the match after scoring 26 runs with a spell of 3/12

Image Credit: ICC

David Boon

Australia’s David Boon starred for the Kangaroos against England in the final, scoring 75 runs off 125 deliveries at the Eden Gardens in 1987

Image Credit: ICC

Wasim Akram

PAK legend Wasim Akram was deservingly awarded Man of the match after scoring 33 off 18 along with a crucial spell of 3/49 against England in 1992

Image Credit: Instagram

Aravinda de Silva

Sri Lankan all-rounder Aravinda de Silva starred against AUS in the 1996 final after scoring a century and taking 3 scalps at the Gaddafi Stadium

Image Credit: ICC

Shane Warne

Legendary Australian spinner Shane Warne outwitted the Pakistan side in the 1999 final at Lord's with a match-winning spell of 4/33

Image Credit: ICC

Ricky Ponting

Former Aussie skipper Ricky Ponting was the star batter for the Kangaroos with a brilliant 140* off 121 vs India in the 2003 final in Johannesburg

Image Credit: AFP

Adam Gilchrist

Australia's dominant side saw wicketkeeper-batter Adam Gilchrist score a spectacular 149 off 104 balls which won the title against SL in 2007

Image Credit: AFP

MS Dhoni

Former Team India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was given the man of the match in the 2011 final vs Sri Lanka after he scored an important 91* off 79

Image Credit: AFP

James Faulkner

The 2015 final between Australia and New Zealand saw pacer James Faulkner get the prize after a match winning spell of 3/36 for the Aussies at the MCG

Image Credit: AFP

Ben Stokes

The nail-biting 2019 final between England and New Zealand saw Ben Stokes being awarded as the man of the match for an unbeaten 84 off 98 for ENG

Image Credit: AFPIND vs AUS