Delhi's GRAP framework and its 4 stages: Explained

By Editorji News Desk
Published on | Nov 03, 2023

What is GRAP?

Graded Response Action Plan, a four-stage framework, kicks in as Delhi’s air quality worsens. It is implemented after the AQI reaches ‘poor’ levels.

Image Credit: PTI

How does it work?

GRAP uses short-term measures that are revoked once the national capital’s air quality improves.

Image Credit: PTI

Who oversees it?

India’s Commission for Air Quality Management oversees the GRAP framework in the national capital. It collaborates with other environmental bodies.

Image Credit: Twitter

Stage 1

As Delhi’s AQI crosses the 200 mark, the GRAP restricts construction and demolition activities. Sprinkling water on streets is also done frequently.

Image Credit: PTI

Stage 2

Next step is to increase parking fees in public areas and restrict the use of diesel engines in Delhi. This kicks in after the AQI crosses 300.

Image Credit: PTI

Stage 3

Harsher measures begin as entry of certain non-essential commercial vehicles registered outside Delhi is restricted. AQI is over 400 at this stage.

Image Credit: PTI

Stage 4

As Delhi’s AQI crosses 450, schools may announce temporary closure. Government offices are also directed to run at limited capacity.

Image Credit: PTIDelhi schools shut