Shakti: 5 Things to know about the Grammy-winning band

By Editorji News Desk
Published on | Feb 05, 2024


After the first iteration of the Mahavishnu Orchestra was dissolved, Shakti was formed in 1973.


Besides Shankar Mahadevan and Zakir Hussain, Shakti also features John McLaughlin, V Selvaganesh, and Ganesh Rajagopalan.


The band reformed in 2020 after "Remember Shakti".

This Moment

"This Moment", released in 2023, consists of 8 tracks.

On tour

After sporadically touring during the '70s and '90s, Shakti will be supporting their album "This Moment" with a world tour soon.