Scientists behind Chandrayaan-3 & their education background

By Editorji News Desk
Published on | Aug 24, 2023

S. Somnath - Chairperson of Space Commission

Holds a B-Tech in mechanical engineering from TKM College of Engineering in Kollam & Masters in Aerospace Engineering at IISC in Bangalore

M. Sankaran - UR Rao Satellite Centre's Director

Received a Master's degree in physics from Bharthidasan University, Tiruchirapalli in 1986 and joined ISRO Satellite Centre soon after

Dr. V. Narayanan - Director of Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre

An alumnus of IIT Kharagpur, he earned his MTech in Cryogenic Engineering and went on to pursue PhD in aerospace engineering

Dr. S. Unnikrishnan Nair - Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre

Has B-Tech in Mechanical Engineering from Kerala University, went on to pursue an ME from IISC Bangalore and got his PhD from IIT Madras

P Veeramuthuvel - Project Director, Chandrayaan-3

Earned a diploma in Mechanical Engineering from a private polytechnic college. He went on to do engineering and received PhD from IIT, Madras

Mohana Kumar - Chandrayaan-3 Mission Director

Graduated from IIT Madras with a Bachelor of Engineering in Aeronautical Engineering, Masters from University of Maryland & PhD from IISC, Bangalore

Kalpana K - Deputy Project Director, Chandrayaan-3

Graduated from IIT Kharagpur with a degree in aeronautical engineering, and joined ISRO as a scientist in 2003

Muthayya Vanitha - Deputy Director of UR Rao Satellite Center

She graduated from the College of Engineering, Guindy and was originally trained as a design engineer

Ritu Karidhal Srivastava - Senior Scientist ISRO

Earned BSC in Physics from the University of Lucknow and went on to pursue Masters. She was later accepted into the department's doctoral programme

Read Also