India launches road safety assessment system Bharat NCAP

By Editorji News Desk
Published on | Aug 23, 2023

India's crash safety assessment system

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari launches Bharat New Car Assessment Programme which is aimed at improving road safety

Bharat NCAP Ratings

The vehicles will be given star ratings based on crash tests and point-based evaluations. Crash tests include frontal, side and pole-side test

Car crash test

A frontal crash test is conducted at a speed of 64 kmph. Side crash test at 50 kmph and pole-side tests occur at 20 kmph

Point-based evaluation

Adult safety for front passengers and child safety at the rear is considered for ratings

Ratings based on Adult safety

For Adult safety, 27 out of 32 points is required by the cars to attain 5-star rating

Ratings based on Child safety

A 5-star rating for child safety is granted to vehicles scoring at least 41 out of 49 points

Who gets Bharat NCAP ratings?

Under the BNCAP, manufacturers or importers of motor vehicles will have to apply for FORM 70-A to the agency designated by the central government